Penn Conference in Theoretical Chemistry (PCTC) 2019

The annual meeting of  the Penn Conference on Theoretical Chemistry (PCTC 2019) will be in honor of Abe Nitzan’s 75th birthday and the broadly-defined theme  of PCTC will be «Chemical Dynamics in the Condensed Phase.»

PCTC is an intimate, collegial,
workshop-type conference series  with the goal  of  bringing  together  experts  and  stimulating  new  research directions in any area  of theoretical and computational chemistry, but especially condensed phase chemistry.

In celebration of Abe Nitzan’s achievements, this year the conference will be a joint collaboration between the University of Pennsylvania and Tel-Aviv University. The workshop will be an excellent opportunity to make American-Israeli scientific connections.

The three day long  meeting will be held August 12-14 2019, on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Registration will open around Feb. 15  (if not earlier).  Some external funds may also available to subsidize graduate students and postdocs. Unfortunately, because of the late date in August we will not be able to secure dorm rooms this year.

In  addition to invited  faculty talks, we are  soliciting nominations for  PCTC POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW AWARDS.
For  PCTC 2019, one or two postdoctoral candidates  from any field of theoretical chemistry will be chosen  to present their work  at the conference, and will also receive up to $500 for their travel expenses.

To apply, postdoctoral candidates should submit ONE PDF containing (i) their full CV and (ii) an abstract (up to 500 words) of their proposed presentation.  Candidates should also arrange for two letters of recommendation to be sent to
Applications are due by March 1, 2019. Complete instructions will be available on the website.

Confirmed faculty speakers (to date, partial list):
Peter Rossky (Rice)
Greg Voth (Chicago)
Horia Metiu (UCSB)
Eran Rabani (Berkeley)
Brenda Rubenstein (Brown)
Michael Thorwart (Hamburg)
Wolfgang Belzig (Konstanz)
Ron Naaman (Weizmann)
Guy Cohen (Tel-Aviv)
Leeor Kronik (Weizmann)
Benny Gerber (Hebrew U)
Gemma Solomon (Copenhagen)
Emily Weiss (Northwestern)
Pramod Reddy (Michigan)
Tal Schwartz (Tel-Aviv)
Ori Cheshnovsky (Tel-Aviv)
George Schatz (Northwestern)
Nimrod Moiseyev (Technion)
Oren Tal (Weizmann)
Michael Thoss (Freiburg)
David Beratan (Duke)
Maxim Sukharev (Arizona State)
Birgitta Whaley (Berkeley)
Yoram Selzer (Tel-Aviv)

Session Chairs (to date, partial list):
Vladimiro Mujica (Arizona State)
Louis Brus (Columbia)
John Tully (Yale)
Joel Gersten (CUNY)

We look forward  to welcoming to you to the University of Pennsylvania in the summer!

The Organizers:
Misha Galperin
Oded Hod
Dvira Segal
Joe Subotnik

and Co-Organizers:
Andrew Rappe
Jeffery Saven

Joseph Eli Subotnik

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Endowed Term Professor of Chemistry University of Pennsylvania
231 S. 34th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

(215)  746  – 7078

Deja una respuesta

Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Salir /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Salir /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Salir /  Cambiar )

Conectando a %s